Our history

Founding duo

In 1904 in Paris, Caron was born out of the sparks that flew when two extraordinary people, Félicie Wampouille and Ernest Daltroff, first met. It was the explosive union of a woman with fantastic intuition, and a perfumer as talented as he was determined. Two free and independent spirits, two different yet complementary characters, brought together by a single vision driven by audacity and freedom.

Pooling their talents and sharing their desires, they formed the founding duo of a perfume house that broke with the codes of its time and, with its very first creations, asserted a radical and instantly recognisable identity: powerful trails, harmony that surges forth from contrast, or even from direct opposites.

Caron was more than a house: it was a revolution.

Audacious perfumes

Ernest and Félicie created the great women’s fragrances, such as NARCISSE NOIR in 1911, N’AIMEZ QUE MOI in 1917, TABAC BLOND in 1919, EN AVION in 1932 and FLEURS DE ROCAILLE in 1933.

In 1934, they launched the iconic POUR UN HOMME, the first men’s fragrance. It showcases a typical ingredient loved by men: Lavender. Combined with a gourmand vanilla, the contrasting accord makes for a unique trail.

The creative audacity of Ernest Daltroff is also expressed through exceptional powders scented with Bulgarian Rose. In 1906, with the POMPON POUDRE, a patented product, the House also invented a new and ingenious technique that allowed women to apply their powder sparingly, at any time of the day.

Freedom to create

Each Caron fragrance is an expression of this freedom. As the common thread that weaves together past, present and future, it is a pledge of independence that has become rare in this industry. The house’s freedom is embodied above all in the choice to uphold an olfactory style liberated of all diktats.

Notre histoire

Un duo fondateur

En 1904 à Paris, la Maison Caron nait de l’étincelle créée par la rencontre entre deux personnalités hors norme : Félicie Wanpouille et Ernest Daltroff. C’est l’union explosive d’une femme à l’intuition fabuleuse et d'un parfumeur aussi talentueux qu’acharné. Deux esprits libres et indépendants, deux caractères différents mais complémentaires, réunis par une même vision dont les maitres mots sont l’audace et la liberté.

Unissant leurs talents, confrontant leurs désirs, ils incarnent le duo fondateur d’une maison de parfums qui s’inscrit en rupture avec les codes de son époque et impose dès ses premières créations une identité radicale et immédiatement reconnaissable : puissance des sillages, harmonie surgie des contrastes, voire des contraires.

Plus qu’une maison, Caron est une révolution.

Des parfums audacieux

Ernest et Félicie donnèrent naissance aux plus grands parfums féminins tels que NARCISSE NOIR en 1911, N’AIMEZ QUE MOI en 1917, TABAC BLOND en 1919, EN AVION en 1932 ou FLEURS DE ROCAILLE en 1933.

En 1934, ils lancent l'iconique POUR UN HOMME, le premier parfum masculin. A l'honneur, un ingrédient typiquement apprécié des hommes : la lavande. Associée à une vanille gourmande, l’accord est tout en contraste pour un sillage unique.

L’audace créative d’Ernest Daltroff se traduit également dans des poudres d’exception, parfumées à la Rose de Bulgarie. En 1906, avec le POMPON POUDRE, produit breveté, la Maison inventa également avec une nouvelle gestuelle ingénieuse permettant aux femmes de se poudrer à tout moment de la journée avec parcimonie.

La liberté créatrice

Chaque parfum Caron est un manifeste de liberté. Fil conducteur reliant hier, aujourd’hui et demain, elle est le gage d’une indépendance devenue rare dans l’industrie. La liberté de la Maison s’incarne avant tout dans le choix de perpétuer un style olfactif émancipé de tous les diktats.